Many old people do not do exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done?

A lot of elderly individuals avoid engaging in physical exercise. In this essay I will discuss why it might be the case and suggest some solutions.

Many old people do not want to be involved in physical activity, possibly because of their health state. Many older adults may experience disabilities, chronic illnesses, low energy level or even mental disorders, which can prevent them from participating in physical activities. Also can influence the lack of opportunity. It could be difficult to find a special place for workout and friends or someone who will be pleased to join and support. Loneliness and the difficulty of finding gyms and company stop one from being active.

To address the first issue, we can promote advice that encourages light exercises at home such as stretching or gentle workouts. It will be healthy and possible routine for every day. Morning exercises, gymnastics in the evening or a walk will help one feel relaxed and improve a bad mood. For example, the risk of atherosclerosis and further obesity can be controlled and reduced by walk or some cardio exercises. The second issue can be tackled through government initiatives. Longevity centers can be opened, like those in Moscow for pensioners, increase access to sport facilities, engaging personal trainers. Excursions to other cities or bike rides, games of ping-pong, tennis and badminton can be more available to older people.

To sum up, the main reasons why people of a certain age may be not so active is determined by their health, physical abilities and accessibility of sports activities in the country and society where they live.