even though experts believe that walking is a great way to improve one's health, very few people walk nowadays. why people arent walking? what can be done to encourage them to walk more?

The rate of physical activities, especially walking, is on the decline nowadays, despite the fact that walking is proven to be essential in staying healthy by scientists. This composition will examine the various reasons for this trend and suggest solutions to ameliorate it.

One of the primary reasons for the reduction in physical activities among individuals pertains to their busy schedules. Juggling between work and household chores, people rarely find the time to go for walks. This not only makes them lazy, but also contributes directly to the rising levels of obesity. This is because walking has been proven by research to stabilize blood glucose levels and reduce weight. Another reason is the widespread use of motor vehicles to commute. Office workers prefer driving for 5 minutes rather than walking the same distance for 15 minutes, so as to save their time and energy for the day ahead.

This issue can be solved by combined efforts of governments, societies, and individuals. Firstly, it is the responsibility of governments to allocate funding towards the construction of walking tracts and parks to provide opportunities for people to either walk to and from work, or combine leisure activities with exercise. Additionally, local authorities must organize walking marathons to raise awareness about the importance of regular walks. Lastly, it is up to the individuals themselves to incorporate light and moderate workouts for the sake of their health.

In conclusion, walking holds a myriad of benefits and it is believed to be the best way to stay fit. While busy schedules and lethargy can prevent people from getting their steps in, simultaneous efforts of governments and individuals can help with the provision of opportunities to change their sedentary lifestyles into active ones.