Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this Is this happening? And how can we solve this problem?

Wastage of tons of food has been a common issue everywhere around the world. Irrespective of whether a country produces enough food for its people or not, food wastage has become commonplace due to various reasons.

One of the major reasons of food getting wasted is over-buying. When people visit stores, they prefer to buy as many things as possible at once, in order to save their time as they lead a busy life. Later they don not properly plan on how to efficiently use them without getting wasted. Most of them use vegetables when they are fresh and as they get spoiled, they are thrown away. Another reason is that, lower class people do not have proper storage facilities, they just keep the food open. Sometimes, a little percentage of food gets damaged during transportation itself.

At this rate, if we keep wasting food then the consequences that we have to face will be unimaginable. Initiative should be taken by the Government considering the number of people that are starving for days. An awareness program on the consequences of edible wastage, besides the count of those in need, can be conducted. This can help in bringing change in people. Also, this program can help people on planning the usage of edible resources properly. Along with the Government, a change should also start in the countrymen. Only with the effort of people we can solve this problem.

In Conclusion, it is the responsibility of both the Government and the people. With their charge in mindset, considering the safeguard of future generations we can control the wastage of food.