Every year more and more students choose to study online rather than attend classes on campus. Why do students prefer to study online, what can universities do to attract students on campus.

In recent times, online learning has become more preferable by youth. The number of students who are attending online classes is increasing every year. This essay will highlight some reasons behind this and also propose some strategies, which universities can adapt, to encourage learners to attend offline classes.

There are numerous reasons behind this trend. The predominant one is that it is not only cost-effective but also a time saving method. Students can choose when they want to study as they can make schedule according to their own preference. Additionally, they do not need to spend money on commuting from home to institutes. For example, the money, which learners spend on transportation, can be saved and utilised on other essential expenditures. Resultantly, learners can get same education at home that they get in colleges or universities without spending extra money and time.

There are some techniques, however, that universities could apply to make face to face learning more engaging. The significant one is to provide flexible schedule. For example, educational institutes could add both morning sessions and evening sessions for same classes. By doing so, students can choose classes according to their personal schedule, making in-campus learning more convenient. Another strategy would be to add additional services for students besides studies. To elaborate it further, universities could add recreational activities, social gathering events and some employment workshops to encourage youth to attend classes in campuses. By implementing these strategies, universities could improve the attendance rates of students.

To conclude, although, there are major causes behind the prevalence of online learning, by providing flexible time-table and adding additional facilities, colleges will able to bring more students on campuses.