Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible. To what extent do you agree with this? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Farmers within a country are benefited by adding special taxes on imported food. These policies are required and should be implemented wherever possible. I totally agree with this type of assertion. It provides many benefits to farms who burns their midnight oil to achieve high yield rate. Other reason to supporting this is because the costs and problems faced by farmers on the farmland.

Firstly if government and regulatory authority took charge and make efforts to improve living standard of a farmer working whole day without considering the severity of weathers. He burns his all energy in order to feed the whole society. I think tax should be fair enough to cover the expenses spent on the produce, government share and farmer’s incentive. I belong to Pakistan which is agricultural country whose economy is totally dependent on agricultural produce. Agriculture is backbone of our country. Myself belonging to agrarian family and agriculture runs in my blood as it is occupation being adopted by my forefathers. I am small landlord and my family cultivate wheat in our farmland which is round about 25 acres. Wheat is major crop of my home town people mostly grow this crop in order to fulfill their yearly food requirements and by selling this commidity earns a lot of benefit but in our country our farmers are not much benefited as tariff rate is too low on agriculture produce. Our government is not paying attention to this issue. If special attention is paid farmers morale will get higher and they will increase their efforts towards agriculture.

On the hand expenses spent on cultivating any kind of agricultural product is far behind. The overall cost is spent on land preparation, fertilizers , pesticides and on latest seed varieties. Due to uncertain weather conditions farmers also suffers alot. The overall budget includes cultivating cost, harvesting, cleaning, packaging and transportation charges. Sometimes profit is lacking behind the investment spent on growing any kind of produce. I will share my last year experience enlighting this issue we spent about 2 lacs on production of wheat in our farm land. After harvesting and selling of wheat grain there was large gap between we invested and what we achieved. The overall wheat production was low due to the severity of weather and pests. Net production is far less than estimated and we have to overcome a loss of about 50%.

In short I would recommend regularity authorities to consider farmer benefits prior to anything else. There must special services, rewards or subsidies should be provided in order to improve living standard of a farmers and betterment of agriculture. Secondly there must be small discount on the seed varieties, fertilizers and machinery and thirdly to bear a loss after harvesting a loan without profit must be given which will be returned by a farmer in next cropping season.