Fast food restaurant and supermarkets fund schools to promote their products. Is it positive or negative development

By promoting their products at educational institutions, fast food chains and supermarkets provide funds in return. Although there are certain advantages to businesses as such actions help improve their finances and provide a guaranteed income, they are detrimental to children’s overall health in the long run.

One downside of advertising their products targeted at children is the lack of respect to pupils’ parents. For example, parents take the primary responsibility to their children’s health in terms of the food and the advertisements they consume during studies; every parent wants best for their children, like making schools provide proper food to students or expose them to ads which are useful not only to their personal growth but also career wise. In addition, while they are the ones in charge of paying the costs of attendance, they should always be put first when it comes to making plans on their children. Their opinions and trust on the institution should not be taken for granted since parents also support schools not in a financial way but moral.

Fast food restaurants and supermarkets, however, employ additional staff to spread the products’ benefits to students around the institution. This improves the local unemployment rates to a certain extent, but it does not fully guarantee that the staff working hard will be out of jobs after the product’s local fame starts to rise and it is sold without any burden to the restaurants and supermarkets in the future. In that case, employers do not have to pay vast sums to people who are not needed anymore.

The funding of schools is of huge benefit to the school itself since it will improve its research centers, classrooms, and gyms. These facilities are definitely not only going to make the studying experience to children entertaining but also very educational. Thorough explanation using new methods and equipment provided will ease the learning process, making it better to consume the content. Furthermore, by improving the standards of teaching, tutors will be in deep satisfaction. However, if all the advantages are considered, it does not outweigh the drawbacks.

In conclusion, although funding of schools is thought to be of great importance to provide better facilities to children, and makes teachers be satisfied in general, the demerits of the promotion – lack of respect to guardians and temporarily decreasing local unemployment rate – are hugely unavoidable.