Fewer and fewer today write by hand using an pen or pencil What are the reasons for this is this a positive or negative development

Nowadays, the number of individuals using pens pencils to write has decreased drastically. This essay will denote the reasons behind this progression and evaluate its positive and negative aspects.

First and foremost, the reason for the decline of traditional writing is proliferating technology. People prefer utilizing their personal devices, such as phones and laptops, to take quick notes on the spot, as it is more convenient.

Not only universities, but also 90% of all schools in the U.S. have switched to digital books and notebooks, engendering students to be more reliant on gadgets. Many speculate that the reason behind this is that the majority of handwritten notes are illegible for grading due to the limited time provided for tasks. Moreover, typing allows one to take notes at a much faster rate than handwriting, making it a more efficient method.

On the other hand, although this allows people to be up-to-date with modern technology and spares them hours of handwritten assignments, it overlooks the fact that writing enhances learning and remembering the material. According to numerous resources, students who take notes by writing them down perform better on their assignments than those who use technology-based note-taking.

In conclusion, handwriting is not as popular among individuals now as it was before, with technology overtaking people being the main reason. However, this is not necessarily a bad thing.