Films that are based on true stories or historical events ought to be completely accurate. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people strongly believe that films based on real life stories or historical events must be absolutely accurate. I agree to some extent with the given point of view that films based on real stories or historical affairs ought to be wholly accurate. However, there are certain types of films that can be partially altered or embellished for public interest.

To begin with, the filmmakers are responsible for the facts, moments that are reflected in the film adaptation from the life of the certain persona, especially celebrities, outstanding people, or great events that happened in the past. Everybody has their private life history and their rights must be protected and respected by others during the creation of movies. For this reason real life based films must be exactly like it was in reality. The best illustration of this situation is documentaries where no distortion of facts is accepted.

However, there are some kinds of biographical films that could be more boring without embellishments of some facts that would not change the real plot. To cite an example, films about historical rulers with additional facts about their love stories that were not confirmed officially but characters were real are more interesting. The little changes in decoration, clothing and light effects don’t really affect the plot of the movie. So there is no big problem in changing little details in certain films.

Taking everything into consideration, i believe that movies based on real life or historical events should repeat the original, however it is also possible while creating such movies to change some details and exaggerate a little in order to make them more interesting and attract the audience’s attention.