Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that fossil fuel is considered as predominant energy sources worldwide. However, these days, most people have a preference for renewable energy over natural gas as alternative sources for the reasons of being more environmentally friendly and cost reduction. Although there are some potential drawbacks of this trend, I believe that it is a change for the better.

Admittedly, some claims may be cited for hating this development. Firstly, as a result of the adoption of alternative means of energy, most oil manufacturer countries suffer from the heightened risk of unemployment rate as the majority of people employed in this industry. Along with that, financial drops may occur in almost all oil seller countries due to the loss of consumers. Take an example of Saudi Arabia in which petroleum and gas are the main contributors to the economy. Thus, oil manufacturers would disagree with the initiative to make use of renewable energy sources, and of course, such possible undesirable consequences should be taken into account.

Despite these given statements, I feel that there could be numerous benefits of the use of alternative sources of energy. The most prominent advantage is associated with the reduction of environmental damages. It is clear that the process of oil drilling consists of multiple stages by which a higher amount of toxins are released into the atmosphere, leading to air pollution and some respiratory diseases in the location dwellers are located. By contrast, the use of renewable energy can mitigate environmental issues by setting up the installation of solar panels or wind turbines around cities that do not harm ecology with poisons. Another significant advantage to renewable energy is lower cost. In other words, the production of energy through solar panels and wind turbines generally takes less amount of money compared to that of fossil fuel.Therefore, the cost of selling it is also cheaper, and that would be beneficial for customers’ budget. When we look at the comparison of electric car and gasoline-powered car, which is a perfect example of this case, people could observe that the electric car is dominant than ordinary car according to the cost of energy consumption. Hence, renewable energy is becoming increasingly popular than ever before in all parts of the globe.

In conclusion, although some possible drawbacks to alternative sources of energy for oil manufacturers, I feel that the advantages of this tendency are far more important than demerits for mitigating ecological damage and also cutting down costs of energy.