Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The utilizing of fossil fuels as main energy source has been happening for a long time in miscellaneous countries. However, the usage of renewable energy-solar power and wind power-has been started by some other nations. I am convinced that the usage of alternative energy is a positive development because it is more sustainable and more environmental friendly.

To begin with, the first supporting reason is that alternative energy is a sustainable choice. The alternative energy such as solar power and wind are the example of natural energy that will last forever, meaning it can be used for a long period with more affordable cost. As a result, the government obtains benefits from it sustainability, since they do not have to use much financial resources for fulfilling the countries energy needs. Thus, renewable energy is a cheaper and paramount option.

Another reason for the implementation of alternative energy is because this imposing development of energy source is more environmentally friendly. New Zealand, for example, since 1960s, has been using wind power for its main source of energy, allowing New Zealand to become the most less polluted country in the world. It shows that the nations that choose to utilize renewable energy as the main energy source will contribute less damage to the ecosystem and biodiversity compared to those using fossil fuels. Thus, if some countries use alternative energy, they will save the environment well.

To sum up, I do think that the usage of renewable energy source is a positive development, as it is not only a sustainable energy source option but also a better choice for reducing environmental problems.