Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Although fossil fuels are still the most common sources of energy production, there is a growing trend in using renewable energy sources for that purpose. While there are some concerns regarding the use of renewable energy sources, I believe this shift should be seen as a change for the better/ advantageous.

One major disadvantage of harnessing energy from natural sources would be its intermittancy. It is a common knowledge that in order to generate electricity from those sources, favourable weather conditions are required. If there is not enough sunlight, for example, we will have to switch back to traditional energy supplies. Another valid consern for this transition is that installing and setting up technology to produce clean energy comes with prohibitevly higher prices. This might discourage people in low-income families, especcially in the developing world from buying these technologies. Although, in the long run, it might pay off the initial investment, people will be put under great financial pressure. As a result of these factors, people are led into thinking of renewable supplies as being disadvantageous.

However, despite the potential challenges above, I am still of the opinion that our shift from fossil fuels to renewable energy sources are a positive development for a number of reasons. First, conventional energy sources are major contributors to global warming and climate change, which are stressing the world. Therefore, adoption of clearer energy poruduction ways will minimize the effects that people exert on the environment. Secondly, by acquiring energy from natural powers, countries can ensure energy security and sustainability. As fossil fuels are subject to desputes and wars between nations, countries with no natural resources are often left vulnerable to instability in prices and supply. Having harnessed power from readily available sources, countries could decrease their dependence for energy from other nations.

In conclusion, while there are some practical challenges of adopting renewable energy sources such as its incosistency and high upfront costs, I firmly believe that it should be regarded a positive tendency for its long-term benefits both the environemnt and energy security of a nation.