In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in others, the government pays for them. Do you think the advantages of the government paying the money outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing debate whether the government should bear the responsibility of paying for highger education fees or not. While this trend has certain positive affect, I firmly believe that these pale in comparison to its disadvantages.

On the one hand, government’s payment will equalize educational opportunities to everyone. Bugdet-consicious students may lower their financial barries, which leads to higher chances to access to knowledge. This will form highly skilled workforce and boost economic growth. For instances, in Nordic countries, the pouverished is likely to becmome doctor or engineer thank to free education, which means the gap between rich and poor is bridged. Conclusively, this is a humane policiy to ensure public funding.

On the other hand, when the students pay for their own fees, they will ensure educational quality and raise sense of responsibility. If the government covers for higher education, there will be a huge strain on the budget. As a consequence, this will divert government funding away from other essential sectors. Whereas, if student pay on their own, they will take their studies more seriously and reduce the drop-out rates. A typical example is America. In this country, students have to put effort in their studying to return on investment, which means graduation rates is ensured. As a result, self-funded tuition will maintain long-term sustainability of educational system.

To recapitulate, while tuition-free education helps support the poor, I believe that students paying their own tuition is more reasonable to reduce the taxpayer burden and enhance student commitment.