Give a comment on the following quotation: "Winning isn't everything, but wanting to win is"

Nowadays it is mostly believed that the only thing that matters is winning, thus many of us can quite easily surrender due to the unexpected loss. Vince Lombardi states that having a passion to win will certainly lead to success, because without proper determination no one can achieve their goals. Personally, I totally agree with the author’s quotation and would provide a couple of arguments in support of it.

To begin with, if you consider something completely unnecessary, you obviously will not deal with it. Despite this, some people still find themselves feeling down in case of failure. For instance, the basketball legend Michael Jordan, who is not only a professional player, but also an Olympic champion, is considered not to have an inner ability for sport. According to him, he decided to reach the heights when he was a youngster and through relentless efforts he became a true role model for every sportsman, who shoots for the stars.

Pursuing this further, the desire to win fuels perseverance, resilience and personal growth. History and literature offer numerous examples of how ambition and effort lead to success. For example, William the Conqueror, whose ambitions to claim the English crown propelled him to extraordinary achievements. Despite facing a strong and well-defended kingdom, his relentless determination led to the execution of the Norman Conquest in 1066.

To sum up, I would reiterate and emphasize the significance of aspiration to our goals. It goes without saying that it is highly crucial to maintain motivation and discipline, because then we will be able to move mountains.