Globalization leads to cultural homogenization. Should countries prioritize preserving local cultures over global integration? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalization is believed to lead to cultural homogenization, raising the question of whether countries should prioritize preserving local culture rather than global integration. From my perspective, it is essential for countries to preserve local cultures because not only can it prevent losing cultural identity, but it also has economic benefits caused by an increase of tourism.

First of all, global integration frequently causes loss of cultural identity, erasing cultural boundaries. This is mainly because culture would be adapted to global trends rather than traditional lifestyles. Furthermore, companies can aim to create an entire industry, consequently leading to a decline in quality and correspondence with traditions. For example, Japan has struggled with simplifying their culture, through distancing entertainment such as anime or manga from traditions and customs. Consequently, the process of cultural homogenization can severely undermine national heritage, leading to the gradual loss of both distinctive traditions and cultural identity.

Despite the loss of cultural identity, it is local cultures that have economic benefits due to an increase in tourism. This is primarily because preserving traditions and customs may attract tourists all over the world. For instance, countries such as China have experienced a significant increase in tourism due to their distinctive cultural traditions. Therefore, preserving culture has a dramatic impact on the economy, which is expressed through a large number of international tourists.

In conclusion, I tend to believe that countries have to highlight the importance of local culture due to preventing cultural degradation, which directly influences the economy.