Globalization refers to the increasing connection and dependence between countries, but some people are concerned that it could harm local communities or traditions.

Some people are concerned that globalization harm local communities and traditions because there is too much connection and dependence between cultures. In my opinion, advantages such as exchange of products and ideas outweigh the disadvantages.

The primary benefit of globalization is that products and ideas can be shared anywhere in the world, especially in times of need. This exchange can help solve problems in all aspects of life, from teaching new surgical techniques to providing food for communities suffering from famine. For example, television coverage shows that some children in Africa do not have enough to eat, so people from my country are sending donations to alleviate the problem. Another reason that globalization is advantages is that people can feel comfortable seeing things they recognize wherever they travel. I like to visit new places, and the fact that English is spoken makes it easier to communicate with people wherever I go. I can find my way using English signs and eat food that I am familiar with. Hence, the connectedness of globalization helps solve international problems and makes people more relaxed.

There is, however, an obvious disadvantage in that some of cultures’ individuality is lost. In Japan, for instance, people used to wear kimono. Now they tend to wear business suits. I heard that most young people do not know how to tie the complex sash, so a lovely tradition is at risk. A further major issue is that workers can have jobs if projects are sent overseas to places where they can be done more cheaply. One such situation is that many call service jobs that used to be filled by Americans are now being handled by companies in India and the Philippines. Accordingly, governments should implement policies to prevent the disadvantages from becoming more serious.

In sum, while globalization can threaten some cultural traditions and jobs, it also allows people to share valuable ideas and products. Therefore, I feel that the advantages such as helping others in times of need outweigh the disadvantages of globalization.