Governments are increasingly using artificial intelligence to make decisions about public services, such as healthcare and transportation. Do the advantages of this AI integration outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, artificial intelligence (AI) has increasingly been used by cities to manage traffic, waste collections, and various public services. Although this technology can cause several problems, I believe that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. The following essay will discuss both perspectives.

At the outset, AI can help address various issues faced by the public. One of the major advantage is that AI-powered devices are now installed in urban areas to analyze the vehicles ongoing and then turn on signals accordingly, so that less fuel will be consumed and journeys will be completed in lesser time. For instance, smart devices integrated with artificial intelligence are utilized to examine the traffic conditions on roads in real-time, meanwhile the AI-engineers update to travelers about traffic plan through a number of mobile applications. Another significant benefit is that smart waste-management systems can identify the rubbish bins which are full and order the authorities to remove waste, this initiative can help significantly to keep the environment clean. Similarly, smart technology can be essential to provide services to citizens in such a way that this technology can detect public places where unusual situations do happen more often, so families will not prefer to explore that place.

However, there can also be some disadvantages. The most serious concern is privacy, as AI-powered systems can collect a widespread information, therefore if these private details of the public are misused, this can create problems for individuals. Another drawback is high upfront cost required for the installation of smart technology equipment. For example, the finances expended by the government might end in loss if these AI-smart devices face any technical errors.

In conclusion, although there might be few disadvantages, I firmly believe the advantages of this initiative will be beneficial for the development and environment of big cities.