Governments are increasingly using surveillance cameras in public spaces to enhance security. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In recent years, to enhance safety, governments are starting install more surveillance cameras in public spaces to enhance safety, a trend that has become increasingly common in many parts of the world. While this trend offers several advantages, it also brings certain disadvantages. This essay will examine both sides before concluding that they are equally significant.

On the one hand, the increased installation of cameras provides a number of notable benefits. The most significant advantage is that it helps monitor all activities in public. It also records evidence and improve safety, social order. This means that the crime rate will decrease and stop illegal activities or any type of crimes. For instance,my neighbor’s bag was stolen on the street last week, but on the run, he was captured by cameras on that street. After that, she reported to the police and they extracted the images from the cameras, so the thief had been arrested after 2 hours of investigation. From that, I find surveillance cameras effective in enhancing security. Another important benefit is that local authorities can manage their region because cameras can install in any where which can adjust social management such as traffic, problems or emergency cases to react quickly.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks associated with surveillance cameras are using more popular. One major disadvantage is that these cameras can invade personal privacy. This leads to the fact that they can record all people’s activities, including sensitive actions and make people feel like someone is watching them, causing them and become unnatural. For example, a couple next to my house hung out together and when they came back, they kissed, they are accidentally captured by the camera. After know, they felt so embarrassed that they didn’t want to meet anyone in a week. Furthermore, hackers can utilize those images from cameras to do some illegal activities or reservely stalk victims because the data in cameras can be hacked by hackers using advanced tools.

In conclusion, although government are increasingly using surveillance cameras in public to enhance security has some disadavantages such as data can be stolen or people feeling like they are being watched, the advantages including crime prevention and strict management are more significant. Therefore, it can be argued that this trend should be implemented correctly.