Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The demand of upgrading and construction adding modern traffic infrastructures is inevitable. There is an on-going debate that governmental bodies should prioritize investing on railway infrastructure to roadways. I am in total agreement with this idea, and light will be shone on in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, travelling by trains is considered as a more eco-friendly way than going by road transportation. It is an effective approach for individuals to protect our environment and mitigate the unnecessary amount of used fossil fuel. The large capacity of trains enable them to carry from hundreds to thousands of passengers during each journey. As a result, the average amount of fossil fuel per person is much more economical than each of them using private vehicles, leading to the reduction of released emissions.

Another reason worth mentioning is that the prevalence of trains can curb the traffic congestion, especially in megacities. It is common knowledge that traffic jams arise from the overwhelming population along with the rise of their owned transports. A train trip is likely to accommodate at least five times more than a coach, which can alleviate a noticeable number of travellers going by road. Were the railway industry to be funded to upgrade and improve , passengers undoubtedly trust to opt for commuting by trains more frequently coupled with the decrease of the overload in roadways.

All in all, my firm conviction is that authority should focus on railway rather than roadway as it brings significant advantages. Not only travelling by train can preserve our environment but it also alleviates traffic congestion, a pressing problem in urban areas.