Happiness is often considered difficult to define. Why is this? What factors determine happiness?

Happiness is often considered difficult to define.Today, the concept of happiness has changed among people. As a result, people face more difficulties in defining happiness. This essay will explore the main reasons which influence this situation and the essential factors of achieving a happy life.

There are lots of reasons regarding this situation, and the most common one of them is complexity. Happiness is a very complex feeling, and determining this feeling is very difficult for everyone. While it is obvious that in the modern world there exist a lot of facilities which help people with their psychological troubles, it actually does not decrease people’s problems with happiness. A lot of factors, including personal values, cultural norms, life circumstances, and individual goals, influence this feeling. Furthermore, happiness encompasses a mix of emotional, psychological, and even spiritual elements, making it challenging to capture in a single definition. As a result, more and more people are upset with life, and their motivation, productivity, and effectiveness fall.

Moreover, the key factors considering happiness are different. However, most people are influenced by finances. There is a very popular idiom that happiness is not connected with money; however, without money, people cannot be happy. A lot of things which can help to be happy, such as having holidays in foreign countries, stability in the family, good relationships with parents, and so on, are linked to finances. So, for determining happiness, people must have stability in finances and good income. Nevertheless, finances are not the only reason for happiness; other factors can also influence this feeling. One of them is work-life balance. Work hours often have an impact on people’s happiness. Long work hours negatively impact people’s psychology. So, having work-life balance is very essential. For example, after the revolution, the average work hours of employers were changed from 12 hours to 8. As a result, people became happier, and their effectiveness and productivity increased considerably.

To sum up, the most common reason that impacts happiness is complexity. Meanwhile, the main factors for achieving happiness are financial stability and work-life balance, without which it is almost impossible to achieve happiness.