Hosting a major sporting event such as the Olympics or the football world cup offers significant benefits to the country concerned, yet the cost involved can be excessive and may divert funds from other important areas. What are the benefits of being a host, and do these outweigh the financial implications?

It appears that, being chosen as a host for a global sport event seems to have both advantages and disadvantages. There are those who maintain that despite all positives that country might gets, expenses for hosting such events can cause crucial financial losses in other areas of budget. In this essay I will look at both pros and cons, and decide whether benefits outweigh drawbacks.

To begin with, hosting a large event can provide an involved country with a great popularity. There is no doubt that a country that manages an event would be shown in a considerable number of advertising content, starting from world-known news headlines and ending with smaller sources of the media. Moreover, there is an evidence that the number of tourists might increase. For instance, benefits of such a rapid fame growth for visitors are likely to compensate monetary implications due to the wish of sport devotees to see a championship firsthand.

Another possible advantage is that this might raise county’s reputation at the international arena. What I mean by this is that not every country can represent something major and global, so it potentially should be agreed and confirmed by the international Olympic committee. Moreover, it means that the country concerned has enough recourses for being a host. Thus, if the country managed a sport competition works without either unpleasant accidents or negative cases, it would improve the attitude towards it on a global scale.

Turning to the other side of the argument, huge investments might cause an overall growth of prices in the country involved in order to fill the financial gap appeared because of the event funding. Aa a result, major economic losses for satisfying event requirements would have a detrimental effect on citizens. Take retired people as an example, if cost if living went up and the government had to cut pensions, it would be hard for them to afford basic needs during the event period.

In summary, although it may be difficult for some individuals to deal with financial hardship because of this hosting, I tend to believe that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks without a hint of doubt. Moreover, positive consequences of being a host can potentially reimburse other monetary implications