How ACG Culture Shapes the Lives of Contemporary Secondary School Students

In the contemporary digital age, the rapid proliferation in popularity of a new, synchronized culture-ACG culture – the acronym for two-dimensional Animation, Comic. Games, and Novels – has become an increasingly relevant and influential phenomenon. Notably, the global ACG market had remained in escalation ever since prominent games such as Genshin Impact entered the market. The market’s gross sales revenue in 2024 reached staggering $2.6 Billion in U.S Dollars (Raje).

The widespread popularity of ACG culture suffused and permeated various aspects of secondary school-culture. For students at this critical point of development, the dissemination of ACG culture emerged as a powerful force driving identity formation. This paper aims to explore the multifaceted impact of ACG culture on such contemporary secondary school students, scrutinizing its influence on identity formation, social interactions, personal values and wellbeing, as well as the overall popularity of ACG culture.

Aspects contributing to the multifaceted impact of ACG culture would be generalized into two primary categories. For one, the impact of ACG culture is reflected through the time and money students devote into the “culture”. Additionally, the popularity of ACG culture must also be taken into consideration. The platforms that propagate ACG culture should be specified and contemplated as a result.

My approach to evaluate the culture’s impact in our contemporary school society is through a prevalent survey. This samples of this survey will be selected from Grade 8 students; with participants ranging from active ACG supporters to people who recognize nothing about the culture. This survey will serve as a database. Its application allows me to formulate my final conclusions about the influence of ACG culture.