How does stress affect our lives? Give examples about the topic.

Lots of factors have an impact on our lives. Although many of them have only minimal effects, a few could have a major impact. One of them is stress; hence, it is important to know about it.

Stress predominantly affects our lives negatively. According to the research, it may reduce the quality of life. Moreover, it also has many effects on our hormonal system. These effects can result in not only physiological problems but also personality changes. It is also proven that stress may reduce the average lifetime by up to 2 years, especially if it is in the chronic stage. Therefore, we should consider it a disease. Thus, we have to diagnose it properly and treat it to prevent the negative consequences we have discussed so far.

Stress also affects our mental health, which can result in decreased working capacity and an increased tendency to make the wrong choices. Because of that, it has major effects on our lives, such as the economy, academy, family, and working area.

Thus far, we have discussed the negative sides of stress. Fortunately, it also has a few positive sides. It can increase the quality of working and studying. A little stress is better than no stress at all. I’ll give some examples to enlighten the reason behind this idiom. For instance, let’s assume that we are studying for the final exam of the university without any stress. Stress can increase the blood level of some specific hormones, which can boost our mental capacity and desire to study. These hormones can also reduce the need of sleep. Therefore, without stress, these hormones could not be produced; thereby, our minds automatically think of the exam as not important. This physiological effect can lead to decreased exam grades. On the other hand, too much stress can cause enormously increased blood levels of hormones. Eventually, it will lead to failure of the nervous system, which will also result in decreased performance. Consequently, neither a high level of stress nor no stress are better than a little stress. This works not only for studying but also for working and other fields of life.

As a result, stress can impact our lives mostly negatively. Controversially, we also know that a little bit of stress could be beneficial for human health. Also, we also consider the high level of stress to be a disease.