I n some count r i es, an i ncr easi ng number of peopl e ar e choosi ng not t o have chi l dr en. Why do you t hi nk t hi s i s happeni ng? I s t his a posi t ive or negat i ve devel opment ?

There have been a rise in the number of people that have decided not to have children. This is often due to the demanding nature of some jobs.Also it’s a negative development because it can lead to a decline in working population of the region.

On the one hand,some persons may not want kids because of how stragient their jobs is. In fact,some people work two jobs in a day just to survive,individuals in this kind of situation would rather not consider childbearing as this will add to their responsibilities also serve as hinderance to them performing effectively at workplace. For example, staffs of a commercial banks were interviewed why most of them even if married,do not have children.Majority of them attributed it to the fact that they barely have time for themselves let alone family.

On the other hand,the repercussion of prioritizing work over making babies is that the future workforce of such region will suffer. In the sense that,results have shown for themselves nations in the world that are currently experiencing a decline in population particularly in areas where people are needed to maintain economic status of the country. An example is seen with the recent Canadian express entry,this program was brought by the government to enable skilled workers from other regions to come work for the country.Furthermore,the elderly with time will outface the young people which may not be too good for economic activity.

In conclusion,while completely avoiding raising children may seem like a good thing because people want to make ends meets,it drawback of it is that there will be a decrease in the country’s workforce which can affect the GDP.