IELTS Writing Sample #12 International entertainers, including sports personalities, often get paid millions of dollars in one year. In your view, with widespread poverty in the world, are these huge earnings justified? You should write at least 250 words. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. You should give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

It is acknowledged that international celebrities such as footballers,singers, youtubers and even influencers are gaining a huge amount of money and accumulating vast assets. While some people approve of their fame and stellar earnings,I consider it to be unreasonable and unjustifiable, especially towards people who daily grapple with their daily social and financial problems

Firstly, this phenomenon widens the income inequality between rich and poor, generating a climate of discord and dissatisfaction when the needs of the destitute are unmet.For example, whereas a star like Cristiano Ronaldo became billionaire overnight and continues to sign deals with well-known brands like Nike , many African villagers suffer from poverty, lack of hygienic services,with some of them starving to death or being underweight.

Secondly, public figures generally contribute less to society and they lack the core values and skills that make a worker or employer reliable and resourceful. Doctors, teachers, social workers, lawyers and other highly esteemed jobs are the ones that usually get less credit and recognition,even though they make up the fabric of our communities.An instance of this are all those hardworking and underpaid nurses and doctors who dedicated most of their time to hospitalizing patients affected by Covid 19 virus and easing their suffering.

To conclude, I strongly disagree with paying exorbitant salaries to people who do not possess the qualities that make them really essential to society.On the contrary, Governments should reconsider their priorities and care for less wealthy citizens in order to rebalance disparities and promote equal treatment.