IELTS Writing Task 2 (Environment Topic – Real Reported Question) "Deforestation is considered one of the major environmental problems. What are the causes and effects of deforestation? What solutions can be put in place to address it?"

One of the most significant environmental issues we are facing today is deforestation. This essay will discuss about how human activities destroy forests and create more climate issues, before explaining why reforestation can be an option to tackle this issue, then conclude.

First and foremost, agricultural activities, are indubitably one of the most compelling contributor to decline in the numbers of trees. Our species, in order to fertilize our crops and protect it from the insects, use various types of fertilizers and pesticides that contaminate not only soil, but also water. For instance, agricultural runoff can be washed off into the water source that trees absorb and this can cause the fall of millions of them. In addition to that, we also cut down trees in order to extend areas for agricultural purpose.

The second aspect to consider is that deforestation means the great amount of carbon emissions into the atmosphere. Not only trees sequestrate greenhouse gases, but they also trap them in their cells by photosynthesis. When trees falter, these carbon sinks are released back into the air, thus increase the overall carbon footprint. Moreover, woods are the home of many different types of species, and most of them cannot find their way of survival outside of their habitat.

Lastly, the best solution for deforestation are undeniably planting more trees and implementing strict regulations that ban illegal logging. Reforestation can work phenomenally well against the issue, if only executed properly. For example, we can build two new trees for every fallen tree so that we facilitate the growth of trees. Additionally, countries can also fight against deforestation by legislating rigid environmental laws and principles.

In conclusion, improper agricultural practices create deforestation, an issue that leads to another one, and humanity can address it by planting more trees and implementing laws that protect forests.