In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.Discuss both views

Some countries are spending heavily on building new high-speed rail. While this might drive their economies forward, I believe the money should go toward upgrading public transport systems that already exist because they have a greater effect on people’s daily lives.

On the one hand, high-speed trains can be a key economic driver. This is because they allow people to travel at much lower prices than flights and in a much shorter time than traditional trains. Such fast, inexpensive travel can encourage people to visit other cities, injecting vast sums of money into the local economies. However, I think there might be little demand for some routes and those unprofitable ones could make it hard for governments to pay off the debt, which could prevent them from investing in other projects to improve the economies.

On the other hand, public transport that already exists plays a more important part in people’s daily lives. Many people use high-speed trains only occasionally but take buses or subways every day, making them an indispensable part of their daily lives. If, for example, the problems with delays and overcrowding in New York City subways are resolved, many New Yorkers can arrive at work on time in a better mood. Therefore, I think improving existing public transport will be worth the money.

In conclusion, although building high-speed rail networks might be good for the economy, I think the money would be better spent on the improvement of existing public transport systems because they play a more important role in people’s everyday lives.