In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.Discuss both views

In this contemporary society, some individuals argue that it is necessary to invest substantial money to develop high-speed railway, while others believe that improving existing transportation holds greater significance. In my opinion, committing resources towards public welfare facilities and the current transportation system will yield considerable advantages.

On the one hand, the potential profits and influence of constructing high-speed railway on the advancement of a city are highly uncontrollable. Firstly, a large-scale development project, like constructing a new railway line, requires a large amount of money, workforce, and materials; all expenditures are remarkable. Secondly, due to the unique traits of such massive project work, such as the long-term period of building, decorating, and testing, it may significantly impact the citizens’ normal life, making the current public transportation condition even more severe, like deteriorated traffic congestion, noise, air pollution, and possible engineering accidents.

On the other hand, the positive influence and latent profits are definite in aspects of enhancing public transportation and improving citizens’ quality of life, if the money were invested to promote existing public welfare facilities and the transportation system. A prime example is a survey conducted by German socialists, which revealed that cities with better conditions of public facilities and transportation systems reported higher industrial production capabilities and higher life satisfaction of their citizens, compared to those with less developed transportation systems.

In conclusion, after considering the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that while allocating a vast amount of money to develop fast-speed railway lines can serve as an effective way to develop the economy and a futuristic public transportation system, I am strongly convinced that everyone will be significantly benefited if the money is invested in the existing public transportation system.