In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.Discuss both views

There has been a discourse over people prioritising the idea of constructing new railway lines to make the commuting between the cities easier, but some people were opposed to the idea and thought that it would be better for the money to be spent on improving the existing public transport.

In several countries, some people agreed that large sums of money should be used to build other railway lines aiming to make it easier to move between cities. The railway will result in less time being consumed by people who are going to another city. Once it’s constructed, it will become popular and be a dependable option for people when they have to transport to another city. For instance, there is the latest construction namely ‘Whoosh’ in Jakarta, which is a fast train that helps move from Jakarta to Bandung with an affordable price. Although, we need to keep in mind that not most people use trains on a daily basis.

Rather than spending money to construct new railway lines, some people demanded to improve the facilities of existing public transport. Most people preferred to focus on developing what has existed since it would cost less than new railway construction. For instance, public transportation development would have an effect on the country’s income due to the usage of public transport by most people. Besides that, public transport will help in keeping the environment healthy and if it succeeds, it will also affect in reducing pollution in the country.

In my own perspective, I believe that it would be better to develop what has existed. If there’s constant improvement on public transportation, the demand will increase and affect the country positively. Furthermore, it is crucial to consider the benefits and drawbacks of each option