In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is increased to reduce crime but these measure restrict our individual freedom ,Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

The utilization of video cameras in public places in many cities has increased to minimize the number of offences. While this seems to be a restriction freedom, I believe that the benefits of it are more significant than its drawbacks.

Admittedly, the existence of cameras in public areas has some drawbacks. Firstly, citizens may have less confidence in their surroundings. Consequently, this may affect the work productivity and efficiency as everyone feels stressed about being watched regularly. If people trust nothing, there will not be a healthy environment for citizens to reside in. Secondly, it can lead the people to be narrow-minded. Due to the pressure of being monitored continuously, people will be afraid of expressing their opinions freely. Therefore, it can stifle the innovation of people, as they are not mind-relaxed.

Nevertheless, I suppose that the above negatives are outweighed by major positives regarding crime reduction. The first advantage of having cameras in public is that it strengthens law enforcement. Anyone who perpetrates a crime, such as homicide or larceny, will be punished fairly since the evidence exists clearly in a videotape. Hence, the criminal will think twice before committing any offence. Furthermore, it can reduce crimes of highly crowded public places which are difficult to monitor manually. Cameras can catch a criminal who hides among the crowd, whereas it can be a difficult thing difficult for officers to notice such individuals. This, in turn, means that lawbreakers will not feel free to commit crimes.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that merits of cameras in public places ,including the enhancement law enforcement and the reduction of crime in highly crowded places, are more critical than the minor disadvantages that they bring.