IN MANY COUNTRIES, A SMALL NUMBER OF PEOPLE EARN EXTREMELY HIGH SALARIES. SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT THIS IS GOOD FOR THE COUNTRY, BUT OTHERS THINK THAT GOVERNMENTS SHOULD NOT ALLOW SALARIES ABOVE A CERTAIN LEVEL. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

It is true that a small proportion of people earn higher wages than others in certain countries. Many people reckon that it stimulates a country’s economic growth, whereas others contend that everyone should be paid an equal salary. This essay will not only discuss both perspectives but also present my opinion. I believe that high wages are critical for national development.

On the one hand, some individuals argue that reducing income disparity can mitigate the psychological toll of social comparison. In highly unequal societies, individuals often experience status anxiety when they observe the conspicuous consumption of the wealthy, such as luxury cars or designer goods. When the average worker cannot afford these symbols of success, it often results in a sense of relative deprivation and frustration. By narrowing the wage gap, governments can foster a more content and cohesive society, where citizens are less driven by the pressure to compete with their peers.

On the other hand, others opine that high incomes are beneficial for a country’s development because they attract people around the globe to migrate to those countries which pay well for their efforts. For example, nations like the United States attract high-level experts by offering competitive and high-level salaries. This brain gain allows the nation to lead in sectors, such as technology, finance, and healthcare, as it has skilled workers who drive innovation and increase the country’s overall productivity.

I believe that high wages act as incentives for encouraging individuals to excel in challenging fields. This perspective motivates them to work hard, invest their time, skills and resources to achieve goals. To illustrate, the medical profession is a highly lucrative field that stimulates residents to study for 10 years and spend a large amount of money to get a degree. If everyone is paid the same, there is no reason for them to pursue their career in the field. Thus, high wages act as rewards for their efforts and skills.

In conclusion, although distributing income can help reduce social inequality, I firmly believe that high wages are crucial. They not only attract international expertise but also ensure that a country’s own citizens are motivated to work hard and contribute to the nation’s growth.