In many countries, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

In modern times, there are an incredible number of children and teenagers engaging in illegal activities. The following essay will look at the reasons for this trend and then offer solutions to decrease the amount of crime committed by youth.

There are two main reasons for this phenomenon, which are formed by indifference and disregard of parents and society. To begin with, teenagers are allowed to be exposed early to the Internet, which contains a quantity of types of content, such as the sight of blood, horror images or abuse and uncensored display of corrupt behaviours,.. All of these are the origin of violent tendencies and gradually affect children’s thinking or behaviors, thus, in the circumstances that they lose their control, they tend to make themselves have more benefits in an illegal way. For instance, there are numerous situations in which teenagers film their own videos to destroy property or attack others just to attract online attention and earn money by these actions. Another reason is that in some families, teenagers are not under a strict rule or forced to do the things they dislike by parents or schools. This might consequently result in the reality that children lose their own freedom and frequently are enticed by some virulent friends or clubs because of fake sympathy. This means, they are in an indulgent lifestyle and increasingly deeper into small illegal activities to satisfy their own upset and restraint, such as pickpocketing, shoplifting, violent attack,.. which easily drives them to commit a crime.

Fortunately, some actions can be taken to resolve this issue. Firstly, the more disturbing content is normalized on the Internet, the more parents’ control their children. Therefore, children can be prevented from watching those scenes and less likely to imitate those behaviors. Such a measure, as a result, can eliminate the possibilities of their becoming criminals. Furthermore, the government has to take measures like public labor, compulsory consultancy, and behavioral education programs to sentence juvenile crime. For example, teenagers in Norway, who against the law usually attend the reintegration program, which is structured, focusing on personal development and social responsibility. These measures not only help protect society but also give young people the second chance to change and contribute positively.

The increase in young people’s crime is mainly from lack of family interest and negative impacts from the online environment. However, if properly applying educational measures combined with appropriate discipline, we can reduce the lack of crime and orient the youth to a positive and responsible future.