In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved ?

In today’s highly competitive world, the demand for high-quality food production is becoming increasingly important. Many contingents even use packaging for producing food, leading to the accumulation of global warming and other serious environmental issues. This essay will analyze potential causes for this trend and give some approaches to tackle this effectively.

One key reason is the growing preferences for convenience in modern lifestyles. As daily schedules become increasingly demanding, more buyers prefer to choose packaged items, ready-made meals or even delivery services, which involve multiple layers of disposable packaging to ensure hygiene food condition. Therefore, this food option emits higher levels of gas emissions and pollution into the environment. To cater to the diverse needs of people in today’s diverse world, wide-ranging food manufacturers need to produce packaged products, which are regarded as one of the worst pollutants to the surrounding areas. Another significant factor is the role of business strategies. Admittedly, in this fiercely competitive world, more and more companies try to use excessive packaging for food protection and enhance the brand image globally. Hence, packaging is considered to be a marketing tool, gathering a larger number of consumers rather than a functional necessity.

In reality, several approaches can be used to address this problem thoroughly. First and foremost, each individual needs to raise their awareness of environmental consequences. It is clearly seen that ordinary buyers are not well-educated about the negative impacts of plastics and packaging, thereby continuing to use them on a daily basis. Thus, support programs and awareness policies can be implemented to push people to be more environmentally friendly, such as: motivating them to cook on their own at home or reducing plastic wastage from food and packaging. This way might foster a sense of unity in protecting the environment. Secondly, large corporations should use alternatives, encouraging a culture of environmental responsibility. For instance, companies might produce more organic products or vegetables in lieu of fast food, which contains lots of layers of packaging. This measure not only helps businesses reduce the amount of waste to the surroundings but it is also a great way to show their commitments to social values. Furthermore, modern shops can also provide reusable bags for shoppers and try to not use packaging for ready-made frozen food, reducing the likelihood of using packaging frequently from customers.

In conclusion, while higher demands for food and food manufacturer strategies are viewed as main reasons for this global issue, organizations and private sectors can apply a wide array of approaches to solve this problem strategically. The joint effort from both sides is truly required in reducing the amount of packaging and plastic waste to the surroundings in this fast-changing world.