In many countries, increasing numbers of people are becoming interested in learning about the history of the house or building where they live.

Nowadays, the biggest part of the world’s population tries to find out more about the history of their houses and buildings. In this essay, I want to consider this topic and give my own view.

I’m of the opinion that exploring more about the past can substantially improve your knowledge about your hometown and previous generations that lived there before. More specifically, this is evident in finding out mysterious stories about people’s places. To some extent it can be captivating and exciting to learn what happened to people who lived there before. In addition to that, you can make new connections through this research. A case in point would be my mother, who found a good friend researching the previous residents of her flat.

On the other hand, people have the opportunity to find unpleasant information. For instance, death, robbery. However, these are still useful facts, and it’s not that significant. For some people it’s still captivating information which they can share with friends or relatives. From my point of view, facts like these give your flat or house a charm that others don’t have.

The new generation provides us with various opportunities and social media sources where people can find anything they want in a few seconds. Firstly, to get truthful information, people can compare different websites or newspapers. There are many fakes on the Internet, so people should be convinced that they have real facts. Finally, artificial intelligence is developing every day. People can ask questions and make a plan of what exactly they want to know. AI generates information in seconds.

In conclusion, knowledge about the place where people live is always useful and important, and it will never be superfluous.