In many countries, more and more elderly people are living in nursing homes rather than with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, plenty of the elderly live not with their family members, but in special nursing homes. While such centers can protect people, guarantee support and care, these places can also make them feel detached and deteriorate well-being. This essay will outline both views and explain why the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are many advantages of care homes at present. A lot of modern people are aimed at developing their careers, and that is why they spend hours working or studying. Therefore, individuals usually do not have enough time to look after their parents or grandparents. Caring centers can definitely help in this situation, as specialists live with elderly people there. These places guarantee care taking, feeding and doing various activities with the older generation, which will maintain their lives or even improve it. Professionals spend many times being with patients, so they can be considered as relatives or friends. Therefore, nursing homes certainly help to take care of the elderly because they create a peaceful environment.

On the other hand, the cons of these places should also be taken into account. First of all, care centers can make seniors feel lonely and insecure, as there are not close people with them. Moreover, employees can sometimes be rude in relation to their patients, making them feel humiliated and frustrated. Thus, life in such places can be uncomfortable for the elderly individuals. Secondly, living conditions in nursing centres can cause more diseases, such as depression because some activities cannot be likened by the elderly. Consequently, caring homes can negatively affect people’s mental, physical health and feelings.

In conclusion, although there can be some disadvantages of living in medical centers for the elderly, they provide a set of measurements which are aimed at preserving their lives.