In many countries, more and more young people are leaving school but unable to find jobs. What problems do you think youth unemployment causes to the individual and society? Give reasons and make some suggestions.

In today’s globalized era, it is undeniable that the number of unemployed young people after dropping out of school has unexpectedly increased at an alarming rate. This essay will discuss detailed issues associated with this disturbing trend and propose some solutions.

With the increase in the youth unemployment rate, individuals may experience serious mental health problems, putting society in an alarming situation where crime rates increase rapidly. While they are unemployed, their peers are already having well-paid jobs and fulfilling their dreams, rendering those who are unemployed vulnerable to suffering from peer pressure – a common mental issue among youth. Following this issue, recent graduates have a tendency to find quick-money jobs, which are mostly related to social evils such as illicit alcohol sales or drug transportation. There was once a report on Facebook about a short interview with a juvenile delinquent which shows the main reason they committed the crime was to cover their daily expenses.

This problem is now overwhelming and cannot be resolved by any specific organization or individual, except for the government, which should create short-term courses to improve skills and hold job-oriented days to address the issue in advance. The government plays an indispensable role in solving the problem by providing educational funds for young people to enhance their professional development as well as fostering essential traits. Furthermore, organizing job-oriented days regularly may give youth a clear understanding of their own passions and careers. This could provide young ones with a better chance of finding a suitable job that matches their skills, reducing the likelihood of being jobless.

Taking everything into consideration, youth unemployment brings numerous detrimental effects on jobless individuals and society. Nevertheless, this issue can be resolved with the assistance of the government through government-funded job career conferences and financial support.