In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The effects of globalization have made more and more products bought by consumers on an everyday basis being produced all over the world. It, in turn, leads to some deplorable consequences within the country, such as a lowering of the quality of consumer products and a lack of local markets and food practices. I stick to the view that this is a negative development and that something needs to be done in order for locals to emphasise products made and grown in their country.

Firstly, each country specialises in its own field, producing food that can be easily harvested within its lands; afterwards, these products are distributed all over the world for population consumption. This process is neither very time-consuming, nor the food experience different circumstances such as varying temperatures, climates, and numerous transfers during distribution; furthermore, products might be exposed to traffic congestion, highway unevenness, and greenhouse gas emissions emitted by passing cars. All of these factors contribute to lower-quality food; moreover, it can be dangerous for people’s well-being to consume it after a long journey.

Secondly, local people may have their own businesses spread all over the country without a need to break into a world market; such local practices can enhance the financial status of their state. Moreover, more workspaces are likely to appear by encouraging natives and even immigrants to work in the production sphere; the country will prosper with its own economy based on local markets and manufactures. Eventually, there will be no necessity for international goods.

I would like to conclude by saying that it is essential for all countries to have local markets, manufacturers, and production so as to provide the population with everything needed within the country.