In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

First of all, government-funded medical services should be available with some limitations to everyone as it is a basic human need. Not all people are capable of bearing the hefty medical treatment bills. Due to affordability issues, some people don’t get access to basic health facilities as a result face serious consequences. At least emergency care services should be free for everyone to keep the equity among the nationals.

The residents of a country are bound to pay taxes on nearly all services, food items and even there’s a tax deduction from salaries. So, I believe the government becomes liable to return the most important facility for free. Some countries like Canada offer free medical services to their people. The same quality and standard of service is available to all but with longer waiting time due to staff shortages and limited resources.

Another reason for getting free medical services is to create social equality among the masses. Otherwise the poor will be more oppressed due to lack of basic healthcare need and it will rest an unrest.

In conclusion, I strongly insist on giving government-funded medical treatments. There are some constraints like financial aspects, funding, resource management and allocation but the advantages like equal access, improved public health and social fairness outweighs all other factors. With some extra effort and management a reliable public healthcare system can be achieved that serves everyone equally with due respect.