In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

For any country, one of the greatest treasure is the strength of their human resource. The foundation for this is built by having people that are physically and mentally sound. While the growth of a nation and the welfare of its people goes hand in hand, so does their good health and the ease of medical care provided. Many countries are known to provide healthcare benefits free of cost but others still require payments. It is important to consider both sides of the coin before deciding on the matter.

Healthcare services feels like a basic human right since not only does it looks into the well-being of an individual, but also ensures that the individual keep contributing to the overall economy of the country. This would also help those that are financially weak to get the treatment that they need thereby adding to the growing resource of human intelligence. It seems like a win-win sitution from the government’s perspective.

But like most things, this is not always true as we see many countries still require monetary aid to function. The harsh reality stem from the fact that the pharmaceutical companies needs to invest a huge sum of money to manufacture drugs and treatment facilities. This becomes even more complicated as these pharmaceutical companies rarely act out of benevolence. Thus providing such medical amenities free of cost may lead to the government pockets running dry. Often we see that the countries that provide free medical care, charge exorbitant taxes to make up cost.

Thus, eventhough medical care is a basic necessity, completely free health care might prove difficult specially incountries with low economic strengths. Instead other measures like using cheaper patents and increased strength of medicinal research might be a beacon of light to guide through this.