In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there has been a trend of plastic containers being utilized more than previous times, particularly among food and beverage companies in numerous countries. Although I acknowledge that there are some benefits to this trend, such as the affordability of prices, I believe that the drawbacks, such as environmental impact and healthcare problems, are far more significant.

On the one hand, the main benefit of using plastic in packaging for companies is its low cost. This is because many individuals can afford to purchase cheap things that are made from plastic in comparison with those made from other materials. In other words, the affordability of prices is a key factor in attracting more customers to this brand. As a result, companies can contribute to economic growth owing to the fact that they get much profit from their business. A stable economy, in turn, helps prevent financial instability and potential bankruptcy.

In my view, the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the previously mentioned benefits. For one, even though excessive usage of plastic in our daily lives allows us to simplify most parts of the items. There are many negative outcomes, one of which is environmental impacts. Statistics show that plastic pollution has a profound effect on nature, and estimates suggest that around 60–80% of all marine debris is plastic. Consequently, people and even animals may face many diseases. By reducing the use of plastic containers, we can prevent health risks and mitigate environmental damage. Therefore, utilizing other materials may be safer compared to plastic.

Weighing up the pros and cons, I believe that the minor benefits of leveraging plastic on food and beverage companies are outweighed by the downsides in terms of healthcare problems and negative effects on the environment.