In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In various nations, the use of plastic containers has become more typical than before and is utilized by numerous food and beverage firms. This essay argues that although the use can be advantageous since plastic is considerably convenient and cheap, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits because plastic waste is hard to dispose of and is prejudicial to the ecosystem.

The principal advantages are that plastic materials are relatively more accessible and cost-efficient for businesses. Firstly, the majority of packaging items related to the food industry, such as bags, containers, plates, and cups, are made from plastic. Additionally, the cost of plastic materials is significantly lower than the cost of other substitutes. For example, a usual market value for a paper box in the US would be around two dollars, whereas a plastic box would only cost about fifty cents. Therefore, companies are more likely to use plastic containers instead of paper containers as their main source of packaging to minimize costs and maximize profit.

Nonetheless, the pros of using plastic containers do not override the cons. The key limitations are that the waste discarded by plastic objects is difficult to get rid of and is harmful to the environment. Primarily, the plastic garbage is either burned or ends up in the ocean. Consequently, the synthetic chemicals contained in the plastic, which are released during the burning process, contribute significantly to the cause of air pollution. Moreover, plastic rubbish that is dumped into the oceans causes hazards for aquatic species like turtles, fish, and whales. For instance, a garbage patch the size of Texas, mainly made out of plastic, is floating somewhere in the Pacific and endangering the lives of sea creatures.

In conclusion, even though plastic can be beneficial by being easier and cheaper to apply, the multiple harms it causes to society outweigh the advantages.