In many countries television shows many foreign-made programmes. The dominance of imported entertainment is harmful to the cultures of these countries.

As world has become global village and satellite has connected countries to each other. Thus, they can share everything on Television like news, Shows, Dramas etc. People around the world now are familiar to others cultures too. But it effects in many ways to their local culture.

Firstly, Dramas and TV shows are big medium to promote culture of any county because most of the population watch this entertainment in their leisure time. When foreign made programs are telecasted on local television, its new thing for the local spectators which attracts them, specially, young generation who always try to adopt new things regardless it is harmful for them or not. Just for sake to become modern they are always willing to try foreign culture. For example, when Indian television channels like Star Plus and Sony TV were allowed in Pakistan everyone was crazy to watch their dramas, even their cartoon channels were totally showing their culture. Resultantly, our kids used hind words in their conversation and tried to behave like the characters.

Secondly, local TV channels cannot make progress if they are not promoted amongst their people. If we can recall the history, in the past when cable and satellite were not there, excellent dramas and other entertainment stuff were created and industry made progress. But if people will amused by the foreign entertainment it will effects the industry as well as economy too because this industry is a big source of revenue.

Finally, in my opinion, although its good for healthy competition but people should not be addicted to foreign programs. Consequently people will forget their cultures and traditions which is harmful for their new generation. Because it is said that nations who fail to protect their traditions gradually they will lost their identity.