In many countries, the levels of obesity and related health problems are increasing rapidly. What do you think are the causes of this problem, and what solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, the vast majority of people suffer from excessive weight and health issues. This essay will outline the main reasons for this, which I believe are living a sedentary life due to technology overuse and eating processed foods, and propose effective measures to alleviate this problem.

There are two pivotal reasons why obesity and health problems have risen in recent years. One of which is having a physically inactive routine, which is related to spending too much time in front of a screen. Lack of regular exercise leads to a slower metabolism, increased fat accumulation, and elevates the risk of chronic illnesses such as diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. Another contributing factor is consuming processed and fast food, which is more common among the younger generation. These foods attract people with being delicious and quickly prepared, however, their excessive sugar and high-calorie content are accelerating the obesity epidemic. Therefore, it is essential to take preventative measures regarding this problem.

To counteract this problem, not only should the government be involved, but also urban planners. Firstly, government officials ought to prioritize public health by regulating unhealthy food advertising and promoting an active lifestyle. For example, organizing campaigns that inform people about the health risks may lead to increased awareness regarding this issue. Additionally, urban planning plays a vital role in people’s active lifestyles. Creating walkable infrastructures in cities might result in active transportation, where people commute by walking or cycling instead of using their cars. Amsterdam is one of these cities where the number of bikes exceeds the population, which has an immediate impact on their healthy lifestyle.

In conclusion, regardless of the reasons behind this concern, government officials and urban planners can be highly effective in addressing this issue.