In many countries, the levels of obesity and related health problems are increasing rapidly. What do you think are the causes of this problem, and what solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people encounter obesity and other health problems. The reasons for this phenomenon are closely connected to many aspects of people’s lives, and plenty of solutions which can help individuals avoid obesity and related health problems.

Obesity is not a simple health problem or illness, but is associated with many factors, including daily behaviours, eating habits, and food quality. With the development of technology, people have become increasingly reliant on fast food and delivery food rather than cooking at home due to the convenience, which is high in sugars and oils. Although these nutrients are necessary for the human body, excessive intake of these nutrients without control will lead to obesity. Moreover, in recent years, many food producers have used various chemical substances to enhance the flavour of their products, but these additives directly harm consumers’ physical health. Eating habits are another pivotal reason to consider. In the contemporary world, people live in a fast-paced society, which requires people to finish their work rapidly. Therefore, the majority of people tend to reduce their eating time, thereby spending more time on completing tasks in the study or at work. However, rapid eating brings numerous problems for individuals’ digestive systems, and can cause many health problems if people long-term maintain this adverse behaviour.

To tackle obesity and related health problems, both personal efforts and advice from professionals are indispensable. For individuals, regular exercise is the best way to solve obesity problems without medical treatments. Through daily sports, such as jogging, swimming, and running, people can burn calories from meals, thus lose weight and enhance physical strength. In addition, professionals play critical roles in the solution of obesity. When faced with health problems, ordinary people are always confused about which measures are effective, and doctors can arrange appropriate treatment plans for patients to solve these problems. Therefore, following the professionals’ arrangements and advice is crucial to solving obesity and related health problems.

In conclusion, obesity is associated with the substances in the food and individuals’ behaviours. People must, therefore, foster positive eating habits and maintain a balance of nutrient intake from meals to avoid being overweight.