Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops in many cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this change?

All around the world, large shopping malls more and more replace smaller shops. There are some advantages and disadvantages of this development.

On the one hand, there is no chance for start-ups and a huge risk of pollution. As the well-known shops open, the owners of small buisnesses can not develope their start-up. Hence, people go to the giants of the indusry and do not pay attention on the new store. This issue might increase the level of unemployment and give an opportunity to the large shopping malls continue to grow. In addition, this negative side of globalization does not let local venders to share with tourists cultural peculiarities and provides the loss of unique buisnesses. Another argument is the risk of the air pollution. Besides, there are many environmental problems connected with the construction of huge shopping malls. If a mall is located in a place that can only be reached by car, the large number of vehicles going there may increase air pollution.

On the other hand, large shopping malls provides new employment places and purpose a wider variety of products and services. Otherwise, a huge amount of peolple could get an opportunity to get a job. As grant strores always demand a big amount of professions to maintain such a big building. That leads to creation of new jobs and economic growth. Also, the presence of a popular brand in a large shopping mall makes the mall more attractive to customers. As a result, more people visit the shopping center, which can increase sales and create a more lively atmosphere. In my opinion, large shopping malls are convenient and useful, but they should also include small local shops to support local businesses.

In conclusion, although large shopping malls are replacing small shops, I believe both can coexist if malls also support local businesses and small stores.