It is predicted that in future the proportion of old people in many countries will be much higher than present. Discuss the kind of problems that could result from such a change and suggest possible solutions.

Numerous societal researchers have proposed that the percentage of old people in various nations will increase significantly in the future. In this essay, I intend to discuss the problems derived from this phenomenon and suggest several feasible solutions.

Undoubtedly, workforce in society will decrease dramatically because of the augmented aging population. Indeed, posts such as construction workers require a huge amount of physical strength and muscular flexibility, which in turn means that only young workers are comptent holding the jobs. Therefore, inadequate employees are able to engage in such posts if there are a considerable number of old people in community, posing a serious problem to the establishment of basic infrastructure and residential buildings. Moreover, city authorities should take more responsibility for their citizens’ health care, since the elderly are often suffered from chronic diseases, for example, heart problems. Thus, the expenditure of medical care will be a financial burden for the government.

There are a few ways to combat these issues, both at a societal and political level. In fact, governments can launch recruitment programmes in other countries to seek more capable workforce. For instance, they can attract foreign youngsters to work for their countries by providing ideal welfare including free visa applications and financial supports, as the construction of social facilities is the key element of sustainable and long-term development. On the other hand, governments should raise the tax level of working population in order to gain more funds to provide pensions for the old people, since the costs of medical treatments and medicine will not be affordable to them.

To sum up, it is inevitable that the number of old people will continue to rise in the future, governments should come up with solutions in different aspects to deal with this problem.