Some people think that family has the most powerful influence on a child's development while others believe that other factors (friends, television, music …) have a stronger effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, although family continues to play a crucial role in a child’s upbringing, many people argue that external factors, such as peers or social media start influencing a child’s growth in these days, helping them to gain knowledge and develop themselves through exposure to new environments. This essay will discuss both perspectives before explaining my own view on this matter .

On the one hand, family often serves as a vital part of a child’s life in many aspects. One major point is that family lays a foundation for children during their childhood through advice or lessons about appropriate manners and attitudes at an early age, which helps them develop foundational emotions and qualities to shape their personality. Furthermore, the reliability allows children to entrust them. Children can share their concerns, dificulties or ambiguity from their struggles, gradually helping bring family and children together and eventually offer children some suggestions to overcome challenges. For example, children can share their difficulities during class with their parents when it comes to dealing with them. As a result, It is likely that parent can offer children a wider understanding about their struggle when they try to overcome obstacles

On the other hand, external factors like media or friends are greatly influential on the development of children. First, it offers a wider range of perspective through different insights or opinions. This will lead to a more open-minded thinking of a child, developing essential skills such as communication and critical thinking to adapt to those and contribute to making more firm statements. School, for example, can provide students with group assignments or individual projects to help students speak out their statements about a problem in life, allowing them to develop confidence, in-depth thinking and debating skill through conversations. In addition, media exposes children to information assess through news, keeping them up-to-date about life and shape their insight of world.

In conclusion, while external factors are believed to play a greater role in developing essential skills and knowledge for children, I believe that family lays a foundation to equip children with essential abilities, spark their curiosity in discovering new things and acquire broader understanding about the world. Therefore, a suitable approach is to encourage parents to care for their child’s upbringing, supports their development by teaching them essential things in terms of both knowledge and quality, while external factors allows children to get acquainted with life and apply their knowledge in various situations, helping them to acquire wider understanding to develop themselves