Corporal punishment should be prohibited in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there are ongoing debate between educators and caretakers about prohibiting physical punishment for children. Sometimes these punishments could be very hazardous for the child. Thus I agree up to large extent with this perspective that these types of punishments must be restricted in schools.

To begin with, there are number of reasons for why these physical treatments must be abolished by institutions. Firstly, it gives a child a lifetime trauma regarding physical abuse. One can not enjoy their childhood with peace. Even in many cases a child tend to commit suicide also. Secondly, corporal abuse is not the solution for evolving child’s discipline. For instance, in Kota, Rajasthan a 16 year old boy committed suicide because his teacher frequently tortured him physically. It is not the best solution as a part of disciplinary action. Instead of this, there are better alternatives also: temporary leave, extra classes or any non abusive punishment.It will not affect badly for child’s mental health. I strongly in favour of no physical punishments.

On the other hand, though, physical treatment has very detrimental effects on children, sometimes it becomes necessary for educators to use it to control minors. Nowadays children are very capricious in nature. They can not be controlled only through light punishments. Some mentally retarded students have no effect of these kind of actions. At this time fear of physical punishment can help tutors to control their students. Thus completely banning these punishments is not a better choice. Instructors can use it as their requirements.

To conclude, children have human rights. Punishing them physically can be dangerous for their mental wellbeing. However, at some particular case it becomes necessary to use it. Ultimately these punishment’s goal is to assist students to stay in discipline and their character development. It should be used very wisely.