Many students find it harder to study at university or college than when they were at school. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve the issue?

For many students studying at university or college could seem harder than when they were at school. Maturing may be one of the most difficult things that happen to everyone and graduating from school is a part of it. Factors such as the environment change, new people, and different system may influence on student’s perception of studying. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions.

One of the main causes of this problem is a different environment, including place and people. When a person is used to a certain group of people that he/she meets everyday for years, it could be hard to adapt and make new friends. Considering the fact that some students study abroad, making new friends could seem even harder for them because of the distance between them and their close ones. Likewise, adaptation in the new place with other culture and language could sometimes take a long time, which is the reason why perception of studying may be negative in some cases. The only thing that can be done to solve this issue is taking some time. Adaptation is not fast and easy sometimes, but nothing lasts forever and at the end, many people get used to everything.

Another reason of this issue is that students become more independent when they study at university/college. Unlike at school, they are responsible for their own time and completing assignments without supervision from teachers or parents. As a result, many students struggle to balance their studies with other responsibilities, which can make learning more difficult. To address this issue, universities should provide time-management courses for freshmen. As a result, students will be better prepared for the responsibilities that come with university life.

To sum up, even though the adaptation takes some time and effort, everyone should become mature and independent. This all could seem hard for some people, but it worth it, because difficulties and falls are part of maturing.