In many countries, there are 24-hour TV programs. Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, people find it beneficial in terms of getting access to a wider range of information sources in different ways, and the development of TV industry is regarded as generating positive changes in the perception of massive population. Apparently, the growth of TV channels broadcast during 24 hours a day is of great concern owing to its merits and demerits.

From a positive perspective, the contributions of 24-hour TV broadcasts are undeniable. For one thing, contents popularised on TV during 24 hours allows the public get access to new, information and entertainment at any time, in lieu of being limited to specific broadcast times, meaning that the audiences of nations are able to stay informed about local, national, and international developments as they happen; more importantly, educational and scientific channels are of great help for providing individuals with knowledge sources of life and surroundings. For another plus point, owing to 24-hour channels dedicated to movies, music, live shows offering a continuous stream of content, viewers can find it beneficial for relaxing their mind and enjoying audio-visual effects created on the screens of TVs; simultaneously, the more television technology is developed, the more television programmes will be produced to satisfy the high demands of massive population for discovering interesting things, especially when breaking news resources are still the option of information seekers who expect to get access to valuable things contributing to their better plans for their personal and working life.

Nonetheless, the adverse impacts stemming from these forms of TV should not be overlooked. Notably, many health problems, such as obesity, eye disorders and so on, have been pointed out as the negative consequences of TV addiction which is on the rise and preventing viewers, especially children and adolescents from a healthy life. For another concern, the young generation has a tendency to imitate negative actions from film characters when their awareness and manners impacted by the significant increase in the quantity of violent films; more severely, killing and shooting scenes are able to change the behavior of the watchers negatively and increase social problems in many parts of the world, according to the research carried out with highly appreciated data.

To sum up, as a coin has two sides, this form of television is no exception. Thus, it is essential that the authorities be responsible for cesoring all contents before they are broadcast on TV; at the same time, investments in educational, health and scientific channels ought to be the priority in order tha viewers can enrich their knowledge