In many countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving longer prison sentences to criminals?

It becomes a debatable issue among many nations whether criminals have to survive in long prison or not. I believe, it brings a variation in their habits and reduction in crime rate, whereas by following this role, offenders can be feel stressed and discouragement.

In the one side, increasing in prison length not only change lawbreaker mindset but also improving illegal acts in society. To more justify it, person who combat crime and spend more than half of their life in jail encourage themselves for avoiding harmful acts such as robbery and murder in his/her life. Moreover, longer prison also decline crimes in healthier community. The least number of criminals in the society, the lowest percentage of corruption. For example, in many countries, government give life prison to offenders by which new offenders who think to commit crime improved their thinking because he/she well informed by strict roles in jail. Hence, longer prison shapes ones mind.

On the other hand, although it brings a optimistic progression despite it leads harsh feeling among many criminals. To further elaborate it, they starting to feel discourage about acts. For instance, some criminal not give preference to a big crime but they get a longer prison. Such kind of facts not make them depressed but also make them unsafe. Therefore, instead of longer jail, punishment according to illegal act is useful for society.

To conclude, although staying for a long time in prison charged ones mind but without much harmful crime living in the prison is not a satisfying role because it not only promotes a stressful life but also feel them unsecured towards their country.